INEC Declares Makinde Winner of Oyo Governorship Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has officially declared Oyo State Governor Seyi Makinde as the winner of the gubernatorial election in the state.

It would be recalled that the governorship election was held in all the 33 local government areas of the state on Saturday.

There were three main candidates in the election.

According to information gathered from Within Nigeria, they included Makinde, who is seeking re-election on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Adebayo Adelabu of Accord.

The election results also show that the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Senator Teslim Folarin, won in only two (2) local government areas.

With this development, there are indications that INEC will declare Makinde the winner of the election in due course.

If declared the winner, Makinde will become the second governor to serve two terms in the state.

The first governor to serve two terms was the late Abiola Ajimobi who ruled the state between 2011 and 2019.

Make your comments...